FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in   RSS Feed

Dummy Message
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Salling Software Forums Forum Index -> Archives
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 3:39 pm    Post subject: Re: SEC interrupts my network use as well Reply with quote

Hi,
I am experiencing exactly the same.

My setup is a little different. I am using a 17" PowerBook with built
in Airport
Extreme and Bluetooth.

The network communication that is interrupted when this problem
occurs is to
an Airport Extreme BaseStation.

Software versions are:-
MacOSX 10.2.5 (6L29)
Airport 3.0.4
SEC 1.5

Hope that this helps and that a solution can be found as I am
currently unable
to use SEC because of this problem.

Let me know if you need any further info.
Thanks,
Jon Kenyon.

--- In ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com, Jonas Salling

wrote:
> I will look into this.
>
> - jonas
>
> PS. I have not heard many reports about this problem. It may be an
> Airport extreme problem.
>
> On onsdag, apr 16, 2003, at 12:30 Europe/Stockholm, Kris Kunze
wrote:
>
> >
> >
> >> 3. Clicker Interrupts Network Use?
> >> From: "brandonarbini"
> >
> > Jonas,
> >
> > This doesn't really bother me because I like to always keep my
t68i
> > near my Powerbook 12" G4, but I have the same problem as the
above
> > person. As soon as I take my phone out of range the Internet
stops
> > functioning. At best I get a trickle of data (most sites won't
load
> > at all). As soon as the phone goes back in range the Internet
> > functions properly again.
> >
> > Here's my setup:
> >
> > SEC 1.5 (159), used in tandem with Address Book (has worked fine
> > without me needing to switch BT ports).
> > PowerBook G4 12" with internal Bluetooth.
> > Airport Extreme card using a grey Airport Base Station connected
to
> > Bigpond ADSL (Sydney, Aust).
> > T68i, probably with a very old version of internal software (have
been
> > meaning to get it updated).
> >
> > I read your response to brandonarbini and tried what you
suggested.
> > With Bluetooth active on SEC and Address Book I started an iSync.

> > During the sync I tried surfing the Internet. No problem.
> >
> > There is a bug here that you and/or Apple will probably want to
solve
> > (although, like I said, it really doesn't bug me).
> >
> > Hope this helps. Kris Kunze.


Back to top
salling
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 7498
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 4:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: SEC interrupts my network use as well Reply with quote

This problem has been filed as a bug with Apple. The next version of Clicker
will provide a workaround, in case Apple is unable to address this.

Best,
Jonas

On 03-05-05 15.39, "jkenyon666" wrote:

> Hi,
> I am experiencing exactly the same.
>
> My setup is a little different. I am using a 17" PowerBook with built
> in Airport
> Extreme and Bluetooth.
>
> The network communication that is interrupted when this problem
> occurs is to
> an Airport Extreme BaseStation.
>
> Software versions are:-
> MacOSX 10.2.5 (6L29)
> Airport 3.0.4
> SEC 1.5
>
> Hope that this helps and that a solution can be found as I am
> currently unable
> to use SEC because of this problem.
>
> Let me know if you need any further info.
> Thanks,
> Jon Kenyon.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 7:38 pm    Post subject: uninstal Clicker (unsuccessful still) Reply with quote

I did find Clicker as you (Jonas) suggested in
System/library/preference panes. Even after I unlocked
the folder, it could not be deleted: a message
informed me of that. When I restarted, the folder was
there locked again. This happens constantly. So I
still have two Clickers showing in System Prefrences.
I am not able to rename the folder or move it
anywhere. Very persistent indeed. I really would like
to make a fresh start somehow.
Lewis Hertzman (Toronto)


__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!?
The New Yahoo! Search - Faster. Easier. Bingo.
http://search.yahoo.com

Back to top
salling
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 7498
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 7:44 pm    Post subject: Re: uninstal Clicker (unsuccessful still) Reply with quote

Ah. Once it's put in there I guess getting it out is more difficult. Try
this (in Terminal). Make sure you get everything exactly right, or bad
things may happen:

sudo rm -Rf /System/Library/PreferencePanes/Sony\ Ericsson\ Clicker.prefPane

(this should all be on one line)

For good measure, do this as well:

touch /Library/PreferencePanes

This will work; logging out and back in may be necessary for System
Preferences to completely forget about the old copy.

These problems should be a thing of the past once you start using the
installer.

- jonas


On 03-05-05 19.38, "Bel Ami" wrote:

> I did find Clicker as you (Jonas) suggested in
> System/library/preference panes. Even after I unlocked
> the folder, it could not be deleted: a message
> informed me of that. When I restarted, the folder was
> there locked again. This happens constantly. So I
> still have two Clickers showing in System Prefrences.
> I am not able to rename the folder or move it
> anywhere. Very persistent indeed. I really would like
> to make a fresh start somehow.
> Lewis Hertzman (Toronto)
>
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> The New Yahoo! Search - Faster. Easier. Bingo.
> http://search.yahoo.com
>
>
> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:
> ericssonclient-unsubscribe@yahoogroups.com
>
>
>
> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to http://docs.yahoo.com/info/terms/
>
>
>


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 10:00 pm    Post subject: Re: Connect via AT&T GSM Reply with quote

How about a link to that particular page?? I have not been able to
find it yet...

On Monday, May 5, 2003, at 06:36 AM, ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com
wrote:

> I configuered my T68i using GPRS via the sony ericsson home page.
> there is a possibility of receaving a configuration SMS from there
> page - go to the page and click a little around than youŽll get a SMS
> that autoconfigueres your phone to be able to use gprs but you need
> to set up your mac too.



---------------------------
Chadwick S. Wachs
AOL IM: CSWachs
303-588-3226


Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 10:09 pm    Post subject: Re: Re: Connect via AT&T GSM Reply with quote

For Mmode and MMS it even contains setup for T610 and P800

https://secure.mouse2mobile.com/clients/attsupport/ota/configuredevice.asp

On 5/5/03 4:00 PM, "Chadwick Wachs" wrote:

> How about a link to that particular page?? I have not been able to
> find it yet...
>
> On Monday, May 5, 2003, at 06:36 AM, ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com
> wrote:
>
>> I configuered my T68i using GPRS via the sony ericsson home page.
>> there is a possibility of receaving a configuration SMS from there
>> page - go to the page and click a little around than youŽll get a SMS
>> that autoconfigueres your phone to be able to use gprs but you need
>> to set up your mac too.


Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 11:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Connect via AT&T GSM Reply with quote

Try this
http://www.sonyericsson.com/us/spg.jsp?page=start
-> support -> spec your mobile -> global support -> MMS or WAP
configurator -> phone company etc. et voila


--- In ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com, Chadwick Wachs
wrote:
> How about a link to that particular page?? I have not been able to
> find it yet...
>
> On Monday, May 5, 2003, at 06:36 AM,
ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com
> wrote:
>
> > I configuered my T68i using GPRS via the sony ericsson home page.
> > there is a possibility of receaving a configuration SMS from there
> > page - go to the page and click a little around than youŽll get a
SMS
> > that autoconfigueres your phone to be able to use gprs but you
need
> > to set up your mac too.
>
>
>
> ---------------------------
> Chadwick S. Wachs
> AOL IM: CSWachs
> 303-588-3226


Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2003 11:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Connect via AT&T GSM Reply with quote

These things are mostly under "support" but for those who canŽt find
it here is the link.

http://www.sonyericsson.com/us/spg.jsp?page=start
-> support -> "spec your mobile" -> global support
-> WAP or MMS configurator -> "country" -> "phone company" etc.
et voila


--- In ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com, Chadwick Wachs
wrote:
> How about a link to that particular page?? I have not been able to
> find it yet...
>
> On Monday, May 5, 2003, at 06:36 AM,
ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com
> wrote:
>
> > I configuered my T68i using GPRS via the sony ericsson home page.
> > there is a possibility of receaving a configuration SMS from there
> > page - go to the page and click a little around than youŽll get a
SMS
> > that autoconfigueres your phone to be able to use gprs but you
need
> > to set up your mac too.
>
>
>
> ---------------------------
> Chadwick S. Wachs
> AOL IM: CSWachs
> 303-588-3226


Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 12:37 pm    Post subject: Re: Range Reply with quote

Andy,

I use an IOGear GBU301 usb adaptor, which has a claimed 300 foot range. Like
most of those sorts of claims, that assumes ideal conditions, so you're
unlikely to get that in the real world. I do find it has a far greater range
than the D-link/Apple adaptor (which I owned previously), but find that it
cuts out when I go down a flight in the building (not too surprising, as
there's lots of steel and concrete in the way), but it will reconnect in the
parking lot (it's near a window). The GBU301 also came with a roughly 1.5
meter usb extension cable, so you can supposedly maximize your range through
adroit positioning. To sum up - I don't feel 300 feet is realistic, but I
get much farther range than I did with the D-link/Apple adaptor. Also, look
around on price -- I bought mine for U.S. $50 (from buy.com), and at the
time there was a $15 rebate on top of that.

Regards,

Julian Westerhout




> Date: Thu, 08 May 2003 12:14:16 -0000
> From: "danktuftus"
> Subject: Re: Range
>
> Another great thing that I've noticed looking at this forum over the last
> couple of months is that the bloke who invented the software is always on hand
> to give advice!
> I would normally just buy the 300ft adapter and see if it works but at the
> moment I can't find one for under 70 notes which a bit too much to risk on
> spec, I mean, how much beer could that buy eh? So if anyone else has
> experience of these things with a T68i I'd be grateful if they would share the
> knowledge.
> Keep up the good work Salling old son!
>
> --- In ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com, Jonas Salling
> wrote:
>> Thank you for the kind words, Andy ;-).
>>
>> I think you'll need 300 ft equipment on both ends of the link. That's
>> just a guess; I haven't tried it.
>>
>> Best,
>> Jonas
>>
>> On torsdag, maj 8, 2003, at 13:42 Europe/Stockholm, danktuftus wrote:
>>
>>> Chaps,
>>>
>>> I love this software, it's the absolute dogs testicles. I have one
>>> problem though. I am getting a range of only 10 to 15 feet with my
>>> (admitedly cheap Mitsumi adapter) any idea if those adapters that
>>> claim to have a 300 foot range actually work?
>>>
>>> Andy
>


Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 3:58 pm    Post subject: OT (sorta): Synching questions Reply with quote

I have successfully synched my TiPB and my t68i using bluetooth. But
when I do so, in both places the t machines appear to have each added
the other's entries... So I have duplicates everywhere!!!

Is there a preference that allows me to choose which overrides which?

And the doubles are now in my SIM card... Can I erase my sim?

Thanks for the help,

Julie

Apologetically cross-posted to the Bluetooth group


Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2003 5:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Range Reply with quote

Julian,

Thanks for taking the time to reply, I appreciate it. I had a look on buy.com and they are flogging them for 43 of your American dollars. Think I might have to get one for that price even if shipping to Europe is another 15 bucks it's still worth it

Andy


--- In ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com, "Julian C. Westerhout" wrote:
> Andy,
>
> I use an IOGear GBU301 usb adaptor, which has a claimed 300 foot range. Like
> most of those sorts of claims, that assumes ideal conditions, so you're
> unlikely to get that in the real world. I do find it has a far greater range
> than the D-link/Apple adaptor (which I owned previously), but find that it
> cuts out when I go down a flight in the building (not too surprising, as
> there's lots of steel and concrete in the way), but it will reconnect in the
> parking lot (it's near a window). The GBU301 also came with a roughly 1.5
> meter usb extension cable, so you can supposedly maximize your range through
> adroit positioning. To sum up - I don't feel 300 feet is realistic, but I
> get much farther range than I did with the D-link/Apple adaptor. Also, look
> around on price -- I bought mine for U.S. $50 (from buy.com), and at the
> time there was a $15 rebate on top of that.
>
> Regards,
>
> Julian Westerhout
>
>
>
>
> > Date: Thu, 08 May 2003 12:14:16 -0000
> > From: "danktuftus"
> > Subject: Re: Range
> >
> > Another great thing that I've noticed looking at this forum over the last
> > couple of months is that the bloke who invented the software is always on hand
> > to give advice!
> > I would normally just buy the 300ft adapter and see if it works but at the
> > moment I can't find one for under 70 notes which a bit too much to risk on
> > spec, I mean, how much beer could that buy eh? So if anyone else has
> > experience of these things with a T68i I'd be grateful if they would share the
> > knowledge.
> > Keep up the good work Salling old son!
> >
> > --- In ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com, Jonas Salling
> > wrote:
> >> Thank you for the kind words, Andy ;-).
> >>
> >> I think you'll need 300 ft equipment on both ends of the link. That's
> >> just a guess; I haven't tried it.
> >>
> >> Best,
> >> Jonas
> >>
> >> On torsdag, maj 8, 2003, at 13:42 Europe/Stockholm, danktuftus wrote:
> >>
> >>> Chaps,
> >>>
> >>> I love this software, it's the absolute dogs testicles. I have one
> >>> problem though. I am getting a range of only 10 to 15 feet with my
> >>> (admitedly cheap Mitsumi adapter) any idea if those adapters that
> >>> claim to have a 300 foot range actually work?
> >>>
> >>> Andy
> >


Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Tue May 20, 2003 7:15 pm    Post subject: Jonas' input Reply with quote

Jonas, (oh, the rest of you can read too!)

I really appreciate the effort you put into your work. I also
appreciate the time you take to respond to each question. Please feel
free to continue to offer info as you see fit!

Appreciatively,

Julie
p.s. You single? ;)



Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2003 12:41 pm    Post subject: Re: Digest Number 319 Reply with quote

"Dr. Julie Armstrong" said on 21.05.2003 12:16 Uhr:

> Appreciatively,
> Julie
> p.s. You single? ;)

Sorry, but I am just kidding:
Another proof for "Success makes sexy"

Sven, who also admires Jonas and his work in this project ;-)


Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Wed May 21, 2003 3:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Categories - don't sync Reply with quote

Hi Blepo
What categories are you thinking of? Salling Clicker does'nt sync any
categories as far as I know.
Maybe you're thinking of iSync?

Best regards

Nat


onsdag 21. maj 2003 kl. 14:38 skrev blepo2000:

> Hi,
>
> Would be cool in next update to able to select which categories you
> DON'T want to
> sync.
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Thu May 22, 2003 9:00 am    Post subject: Re: Categories - don't sync Reply with quote

No not iSync, but Salling's Mobile sync. Support for Mobile sync is pointing to this
group so that's why I posted here. But thanks for mentioning - I just rephrased in a
new post.


--- In ericssonclient@yahoogroups.com, Jens wrote:
> Hi Blepo
> What categories are you thinking of? Salling Clicker does'nt sync any
> categories as far as I know.
> Maybe you're thinking of iSync?
>
> Best regards
>
> Nat
>
>
> onsdag 21. maj 2003 kl. 14:38 skrev blepo2000:
>
> > Hi,
> >
> > Would be cool in next update to able to select which categories you
> > DON'T want to
> > sync.


Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    Salling Software Forums Forum Index -> Archives All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 12, 13, 14 ... 21, 22, 23  Next
Page 13 of 23

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group