FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in   RSS Feed

Movie PlayBack - File & Folder Browser

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Salling Software Forums Forum Index -> Scripting Salling Clicker for Mac
View previous topic :: View next topic  
benspink

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 2:42 pm    Post subject: Movie PlayBack - File & Folder Browser Reply with quote

I'm new to Clicker...but I'm not new to Applescript.

Well, last night I sat down to write a file Browser for Clicker. I wanted to display a list of files in a folder. Done.

I wanted to display files and folders in a folder...done. If you click a folder, the list updates and you now see the contents of that folder...done.

So now we have a mini browser. The issue is that if the user clicks the "previous" button to back up a "list", I don't seem to have an event handler to catch that event.

Say my folder structure is this:
A
--file a
B
--file b
file c

If a user goes into A, then 1, then previous, previous, and finally clicks on "file c"...I think they are still in the "1" folder since none of my events got called when they clicked on the "Previous" button Clicker provided.

The idea here is to pick a movie that is in some subdirectory of your movie collection...then display that via VLC and initiate the VLC controller (or write my own).

I want to simulate the Tivo itnerface on my phone.

Ideas?
salling
Site Admin

PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2005 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Basically, you have two options here:

1. Let Clicker manage: Keep the lists ("up the file tree" on the widget stack) by returning true from the selection handler. This way, "back" will be handled for you.

2. Manage yourself: Drop the current list as a new one is displayed. Do this by returning false from the selection handler. Detect the "back" key by implementing the corresponding handler (I think you may have overlooked this one)