FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in   RSS Feed

new to scripting, could use some advice

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Salling Software Forums Forum Index -> Scripting Salling Clicker for Windows
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Dlusion_z

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:15 pm    Post subject: new to scripting, could use some advice Reply with quote

Hi, i'd like to start making scripts for salling clicker [windows]
but i have no experience in pretty much any field of scripting
could anyone point me out to how to get started?

the only scripting im relatively farmiliar with is actionscript
and html (if you can call that scripting)

im confident I could with time make scripts

i've noticed theres a serious lack of scripts for windows and i'd like to have my stab at it.
[although im sure there will be plenty of new scripts whenever the new version is released, but its taking quite a long time and this should be productive anyway]
salling
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Mar 29, 2007 11:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dlusion_z:

The reason for the lack of built-in scripts for Windows is that:

1. There aren't that many applications that *every* Windows user use. I.e., there are many apps that do the same thing (Winamp, Foobar2000, iTunes, WMP, ...). Got to focus on the most popular of these.

2. Windows apps, in general, are pretty lousy at scripting so we have to resort to simple input event manipulation, which isn't a whole lot of fun (and we don't get the two-way effect).

I do, however, love to support popular and scriptable application. Do make sure to let me know if there's some really nice scriptable app you'd like to see supported out of the box.

For the next version, the plan is more towards "depth" than "breadth", if you catch my drift.

Now to your question.

It's a bit difficult to get you started. Did you try the simple tutorial: