FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister   ProfileProfile    Log inLog in   RSS Feed

Point to Point Wifi Connection

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Salling Software Forums Forum Index -> Salling Clicker for Windows
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Garu
Newbie


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 3:43 am    Post subject: Point to Point Wifi Connection Reply with quote

Hi,

Is it possible to connect Wifi using point-to-point meaning without router or access point?

Hoping for an answer....
Garu
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Barend
Newbie


Joined: 05 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Garu,

In the software of my wireless network card from my notebook I can set a profile that I use my network card for an ad-hoc nework. If I use that my wireless network card is more or less the transmitter/router. The notebook diplays itself as an wireless network where I can connect to. With my phone I than can connect directly to my notebook.

I think you can do this also with other network cards as well.. you only have to look for creating a adhoc network. I use the Intel/Pro wireless 3945ABG.

Best regards,

Barend
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Garu
Newbie


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2009 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Barend for the info, can't wait to try it out once i got chance.

Thanks,
Garry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Garu
Newbie


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no "Connect to Wifi" option on my N95, All I got is "Connect, Help & About" Please help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salling
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 7498
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Oct 28, 2009 11:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Connect to Wifi won't show, unless you've configured a WiFi "access point" in the settings of your phone.

Best.
--
Jonas

[quote="Garu"]There is no "Connect to Wifi" option on my N95, All I got is "Connect, Help & About" Please help.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Garu
Newbie


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did configured a wifi access point on the phone, in fact I can connect to the access point from my phone and browse the internet but still I can't see any "connecti to wifi" button in the clicker application. Please help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
salling
Site Admin


Joined: 27 Jul 2004
Posts: 7498
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the past, I've had reports of some wifi-connect utilities interfering. Do you have any of these installed?

Also, I've had a few cases where the connections database on the phone was not okay. Total reset fixed it up.

I'd also like to make sure you didn't install the Java version of the client, as there's no wifi support in it.

Best.
--
Jonas

[quote="Garu"]I did configured a wifi access point on the phone, in fact I can connect to the access point from my phone and browse the internet but still I can't see any "connecti to wifi" button in the clicker application. Please help.[/quote]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Garu
Newbie


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Oct 30, 2009 4:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have any third party wifi util instatalled. All I got is the built-in Nokia wifi util. Also, there is only one version that the SC copied to desktop during "Setup Device" process and it is "Clicker of S60v3.sis".

On my phone I only have the following when I run Clicker:
-Connect
-Help
-About

About returns the following info "Version 3.5 (V64) Copyright @ 2004-2007, Salling Software AB"

It would be a big job for me to reset my phone to factory default.

Regards,
Garry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Salling Software Forums Forum Index -> Salling Clicker for Windows All times are GMT + 2 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group